A Sweet Little Quilt Tutorial.

im0000172

Here is a sweet little quilt I made for my BF daughter.  I used small squares cut out from fabric samples. I had many fabric books left over from my Interior Design business. I hated to see them go to the land fill. I choice fabrics that the colors went to together.

im0000451

Find a pleasing look to your fabric design.

im0000491

Stitched the rows and then flipped them over and ironed the seams flat.

im0000511

im000057

*  Attached each row to each other.  Turn over and ironed the seams again.

*Once  all the pieces are sewn together  sew them to the main piece of fabric.

im000010

*  Use purple single sided bias tape to out line the squares.

*  Sew the main fabric, a natural filler , and muslin all together.

*   Quilt the layers together. I used the sewing machine.

*  Sew Quilting bias around the Quilt to finish it off.

* To add a little whimsy I made Yo Yos. Cut out circles, hand sew a loose stitch along the circle. It will pull together as you go along.With the Yo-Yos with a trim, I sewed on bias tape to them before I hand sewed them into their puckered state. I then sewed them onto the Quilt.

im000013im000015

This was my  first Quilt I have every made. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to make another one. I hope this inspires you if you’ve never made a Quilt. Start small and enjoy!

HAPPY SPRING!

Tracy

Leave a Reply

