A Chic looking Bulletin Board & Tacks

IM000036

Make this Chic looking  bulletin board.

IM000013(9)

I started with an old frame. I found this frame when I was helping my in-laws  unpack their storage container. They had just moved back to New England. This frame was really dirt, torn and ready to be discarded. I  ripped out the old mat, sanded down the frame lightly, wiped down with a damp cloth, sprayed with  primer, and 2 coats of desired color.

IM000023(6)

IM000013

I bought foam board and cut it to the size of the frame. The frame was so big that I had to use 2 sections of foam board. I taped them together with clear duck tape.

IM000014

IM000015

After I made sure that the board fit tightly, it was time to wrap the fabric around the foam board.

I used clear duck tape to secure the fabric to the board.

Lay fabric out on table and leave about 3 to 4 inches extra to over lap on to the back of the board.

Iron your fabric first before applying to foam board. Start on the right side of the frame  half way up the board( Start on the longest side of the frame).

Tape and then press down on the tape to make sure it holds securely. Now go to the opposite side you just did and repeat the process.

After you do those two sides move to ( the shorter sides of the frame ). Repeat the process again. Work your way around the board pulling tight all the time. Flip the board over frequently to make sure the fabric is staying taunt.

I used a stapler to fasten the fabric covered foam board to the frame. I used the same method I did with the fabric.

IM000034

Check out the thumb Tacks. I made them with vintage beads and colored wire.

IM000035

I wrapped wire around the thumb tack. Once that end was secure to the tack I threaded the beads on to the wire.

To make the flower petals. I threaded seven beads on tot he wire  and twisted the wire around the tack twice and repeated the process two more times.

To make the loops I just added as many beads as I wanted and then twisted the wire around the tack to secure it.

These would make great custom gifts for friends &  family. Think of all the paint and fabric choices. They are endless.

Hope this has inspired you to breath life into some old frames you may have around your home.

Have a great night!

Tracy

2 thoughts on “A Chic looking Bulletin Board & Tacks

  1. Hi Tracy,

    My daughter is in 4H and saw a similar idea somewhere for a bulletin board – only it was in sections with cloth covering, and now we can not find it back. we purchased an old bulletin board but now are stuck on how to continue with the project – may we use your idea or do you have any other suggestions for us

    thank you

    Sharon

    • That is fine if you use it just for your personal use only. Use lots of staples to attache the board to the frame. I noticed the duck tape lifting but because I used lots of staples to attach the foam board it’s fine. The tape helps to keep the fabric tight until you attach it to the frame. Good luck. I’ll post it, if you want, just send a picture of the finished board.
      Have Fun and Enjoy your Summer.
      Tracy

Leave a Reply

